Brentwood Borough Council POLITICAL BALANCE – 17 May 2017

The Political Balance of the Council is:

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS		%
CONSERVATIVE	24	=	64.864
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	9	=	24.324
LABOUR	2	=	5.405
NON- ALIGNED	2	=	5.405
TOTALS	37		100

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS	NO. OF SEATS ON ORDINARY COMMITTEES
CONSERVATIVE	24	49 (48.648)
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	9	18 (18.243)
LABOUR	2	4 (4.054)
NON- ALIGNED	2	4 (4.054)
		75

PROPOSAL:

	AC*	CH & HC**	CPSC*	DAC+	E &EC ++	P & LC#	P,P&R ##	SAC~	TOTAL
	(9)	(9)	(9)	(9)	(9)	(12)	(9)	(9)	75
CON	6	6	6	6	6	8	5	6	49
LIB DEM	2	2	2	2	3	3	2	2	18
LAB	-	-	1	-	-	1	1	1	4
NON- AL.	1	1	-	1	-	-	1	-	4
	9	9	9	9	9	12	9	9	75

^{*}A C denotes Audit Committee

^{**}C, H & HC denotes Community, Health and Housing Committee ***C P S C denotes Corporate Projects Scrutiny Committee

⁺ D A C denotes Dismissal Appeals Committee (Only meets on demand) ++ E & E C denotes Environment & Enforcement Committee

[#] P & L C denotes Planning and Licensing Committee

^{##} P, P & R C denotes Policy, Projects & Resources Committee

~ S A C denotes Staff Appointments Committee (Only meets on demand)

Section 15 (5) principles

Section 15 (5) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states:-

'The principles mentioned in subsection (4) above, in relation to the seats on any body which fall to be filled by appointments made by any relevant authority or committee of a relevant authority, are –

- (a) that not all the seats on the body are allocated to the same political group;
- (b) that the majority of the seats on the body is allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of the seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.'

Ordinary Committees do not include sub-committees or advisory committees or advisory sub-committees.

APPENDIX B COMBINED WITH APPENDIXC

NOMINATIONS TO SEAT ALLOCATIONS & APPOINTMENTS

(Council must give effect to the wishes of the political groups as regards the nominations for the seats allocated to those political groups).

Audit Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr McCheyne	Cllr Chilvers		Cllr Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Ms Rowlands	Cllr Mrs Fulcher		
	Cllr Hirst			
	Cllr Mrs Hones			
	Cllr Reed			
	Clir Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Mrs Squirrell		Cllr Mrs Hubbard
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Coe			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Slade			

Community, Health & Housing Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Clir Hossack	Cllr Clarke		Cllr Mrs Hubbard
Vice-Chair**	Clir Poppy	Cllr Mrs Davies		
	Clir Cloke			
	Clir Ms Rowlands			
	Cllr Ms Sanders			
	Cllr Wiles			
Approved Substitute:	Clir Barrell	Cllr Newberry		Cllr Keeble
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Faragher			
Approved Substitute:	Clir McCheyne			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Slade			

Corporate Projects Scrutiny Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Mrs Pound	Cllr Aspinell	Cllr Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Reed	Cllr Kendall		
	Cllr Mrs Coe			
	Cllr McCheyne			
	Cllr Trump			
	Cllr Tumbridge			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Barrell	Cllr Clarke	Cllr Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Hones			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Rowlands			

Dismissal Appeals Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair:	Cllr Mrs McKinlay	Cllr Chilvers		Cllr Mrs Hubbard
Vice-Chair:	Cllr Kerslake	Cllr Mrs Squirrell		
	Cllr Hossack			
	Cllr McCheyne			
	Cllr Parker			
	Cllr Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Newberry		Cllr Keeble
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Faragher			
Approved Substitute:	Ms Sanders			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tumbridge			

Environment & Enforcement Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Parker	Cllr Clarke		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Mrs Fulcher		
	Cllr Barrell	Cllr Kendall		
	Cllr Cloke			
	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			
	Cllr Mrs Slade			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Murphy	Cllr Mrs Davies		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Poppy	Cllr Mynott		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tumbridge			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Wiles			

Planning & Licensing Committee (12)	Conservative (8)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Ms Sanders	Cllr Chilvers	Cllr Morrissey	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Faragher	Cllr Mynott		
	Cllr Bridge	Cllr Newberry		
	Cllr Mrs Middlehurst			
	Cllr Mrs Murphy			
	Cllr Wiles			
	Cllr Reed			
	Cllr Mrs Slade			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Coe	Cllr Mrs Davies	Cllr Barrett	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Pound	Cllr Mrs Fulcher		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Trump			

Policy, Projects & Resources Committee (9)	Conservative (5)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr Mrs McKinlay	Clir Kendali	Cllr Barrett	Clir Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Kerslake	Cllr Mynott		
	Cllr Faragher			
	Cllr Hossack			
	Cllr Parker			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Hirst	Cllr Aspinell	Cllr Morrissey	Cllr Mrs Hubbard
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Rowlands			
Approved Substitute:				

Staff Appointments Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Mrs McKinlay	Cllr Aspinell	Cllr Morrissey	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Kerslake	Cllr Mynott		
	Cllr Mrs Hones			
	Cllr Hossack			
	Cllr Parker			
	Cllr Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cloke	Clir Clarke	Cllr Barrett	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr McCheyne			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mrs Pound			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ms Sanders			